Underclassmen Honors Convocation

May 25, 2017

On Thursday, May 18, students from grades 9-11 gathered in the Brady Center to celebrate each other’s achievements from throughout the school year. Every year, AHN hosts this ceremony to recognize students who have in their academics and character, and those who have done an outstanding amount of community service that year.

After being welcoming the faculty, underclassmen student body, family members, and special guests, Principal Stephanie Nitchals began the ceremony in prayer. Soon after concluding the opening prayer, Principal Nitchals acknowledged the 2016-2017 Student Council Officers and Representatives, and recognized the 2017-2018 Student Council Officers and Representatives for next school year.

2017-2018 Student Council Officers

  • President: Alex Smith
  • Vice-President: Maddie Obregon
  • Recording Secretary: Charli Young
  • Corresponding Secretary: Sophie Ragano
  • Treasurer: Olivia Fernandez
Credit: Olivia Fernandez/Achona Online

After welcoming the new student council members, Principal Nitchals congratulated the following students for their achievements.

Listed below are all the awards given out during the ceremony and who received them.

  • Anne Frank Humanitarian Award 2017 Haley Palumbo
  • General H. Norman Schwarzkopf Leadership Award Sarah Phillips
  • The American Legion 2017 Girls State – Hailey Eckermann
  • Athena Young Women of Promise Award – Caitlin Shannon
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Medalist – Evelyn Martinez
  • The University of Rochester Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award – Emma Heston
  • The University of Rochester Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award Program in the Humanities & Social Sciences – Talia Sharrieff
  • University of Rochester George Eastman Young Leaders Program – Alex Smith
  • University of Rochester Xerox Award for Innovation & Information Technology – Annmarie Collins
  • The Wofford College Scholarship Program – Claire Obeck and Elena Schillinger
  • Fairfield University Book Award – Amanda Lazzara
  • Furman University Scholarship Program Emma Heston, Feraby Hoffman, Evelyn Martinez, and Katherine Nitchals
  • High Point University Junior Scholars Program – Aine Campion, Chloe Glaum, Cayla Lowrey, and Katherine Pickard
  • The Columbia University Alumni Club of Tampa Bay Book Award – Feraby Hoffman
  • Dartmouth College Book Award – Julia Lee
  • Presbyterian College Fellows Award – Emma Sewell
  • Princeton University Book Award – Emma Heston
  • Saint Michael’s College Book Award – Lauren Sellers
  • Salem College Book Award – Katherine Hahn
  • Smith College Book Award – Madison Williams
  • The St. Lawrence University Book Award – Claire Obeck
  • The University of Virginia Jefferson Book Award – Sarah Phillips
  • The National Hispanic Recognition Program – Evelyn Martinez
  • The Mayor’s Youth Corps of Tampa Rachel Brown, Grace Buckhorn, Annmarie Collins, Megan DeVaney, Evan Greek, Hira Khan, Alexandra Kimpland, Mia Leto, Sophie Ragano, and Victoria Wehling
  • The Hugh O’Brian Youth Foundation Leadership Award – Sophie Ragano, Katherine Rodriguez, and Theresa Tulsiak

Concluding the ceremony, Principal Nitchals announced the “Student of the Year” for each underclassman grade. Every year, students from all grade levels vote on who they think their student of the year is. Each grade’s “Student of the Year” is based on who they think best represents their grade level.

This year’s “Student of the Year” were given to:

  • Freshman – Caroline Lamoureux
  • Sophomore – Summer Wolf
  • Junior – Lyric Vickers
Leave a Comment

Achona • Copyright 2024 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

For us to post your comment, please submit your name and email with the comment. Thanks!
All Achona Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *