MLB Playoffs Lead to World Series

October 23, 2017


(Photo Credit: Emily Anderson/Achona Online)

The two teams advancing to the 2017 World Series are the Houston Astros and the LA Dodgers. Photo Credit: Emily Anderson/AchonaOnline

The Major League Baseball playoffs mark the end of the 162 game regular season, typically beginning the first full week of October.

Ten teams make the playoffs—five each in the American and National Leagues.

According the the official Major League Baseball website, the playoffs for each league consist of a one-game playoff between two wild-card teams, two best-of-five Division Series playoffs featuring the wild card winner and the division winner, and finally the best-of-seven League Championship Series.

Gretchen Swenson (‘18) has been to more than eight Chicago Cubs games with her dad, at Wrigley Field in Chicago and the Tropicana Field. 

The second round of the playoffs  (Championship Series) are played with home field advantage meaning four home games (two games at one venue, three at the other, then two more at the first venue if necessary).

The 2017 MLB playoffs, an elimination tournament,  decides the winner of the American League Championship Series (ALCS) and the National League Championship Series (NLCS) before  moving on to play each other in the best-of-seven World Series.

Game 1 will be on Tuesday, Oct. 24.  

The remaining four teams were the Chicago Cubs and the Los Angeles Dodgers (American League) and the New York Yankees and the Houston Astros (National League.)

“I’m rooting for the Houston Astros because I love Texas. My favorite player is Lance McCullers Jr. #43 because he went to Jesuit [Tampa] and is good looking,” Sophia Tremonti (‘18) said.

The Houston Astros finished 4 –3 games over the Yankees.

The Chicago Cubs made a comeback Wednesday night. However, the Dodgers still won 4 –1 games over the Cubs.

“I want the Yankees to win the World Series. They have their spring season here so I have grown up going to their games,” Danielle Duarte (‘19) said.

Here is the schedule for the 2017 World Series the next two weeks: 


Wrigley Field is the oldest National League ballpark and has been home to the Chicago Cubs since 1916. The Cubbies won the 2016 World Series, which ended their 108 year drought. (Photo Credit: Emily Anderson/Achona Online)
Leave a Comment

Achona • Copyright 2023 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

For us to post your comment, please submit your name and email with the comment. Thanks!
All Achona Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *