First Mr. AHN Sweetheart captures hearts

First ‘Mr. AHN Sweetheart’ captures hearts

On the evening of Sunday, February 13, the senior class launched its most popular fundraiser yet, all all-time first “Mr. AHN Sweetheart.”  With 50% of the voting based on money donations and the other 50% based on scoring from five seasoned judges, the five finalist couples faced some stiff competition. Raising more than $3000 for one night’s entertainment, seniors and Jesuit men agreed that it was one great way to raise money to support the Class of 2011 Endowment Fund.

Under the direction of Alumni Relations Director Mrs. Patty Bohannan, Senior Class officers Meredith Zingale , Mackenzie Murphy, Francesca Staffetti, Paige Russell, and Paige Schaefer  drew on the support of their classmates and parents to help with concessions, decorations and ticket sales. Ms. Stefanie Rotolo, Drama Teacher and Dance Team Moderator,  helped with choreography and music.  The Dance Team entertained during intermission with their usual talent and stylish flare.

Seven senior couples competed for the title of “Mr. AHN Sweetheart” –  Andrew Rodriguez and Garrison Daly, Travis Allen and Paige Schaefer, Joey Gonzalez and India Hays, Connor Diaz and Laura Giunta, Michael Waggoner and Sabrina Marcos, Robbie Amor and Marianna Sotomayor, and Joe Twomey and Michelle Reyes. Each couple performed to an upbeat, contemporary waltz to “The Time” by the Black Eyed Peas, a variation of the rumba to Glee’s rendition of “Total Eclipse of my Heart”, then closing with an quick foxtrot and the couple’s freestyle to an instrumental of Chicago’s “All That Jazz”.

The contestants were critiqued and scored by a fabulous panel of judges. Jesuit’s own Mr. Randy Gibbens, S.J opened the panel followed by Mrs. Amy Kafantaris, Mrs. Edie LeBas, Monsignor Joseph McCahon, Sr. Mary Patricia Plumb, S.N.J.M. Each judge played an important role  in the overall decision. They paid special attention to technique, costume, the freestyle portion, expression, crowd appeal, and pair chemistry. The judges’ scores helped with individual awards other than the supreme title of Mr. AHN Sweetheart like Best Costume, Best Freestyle, and Best Dance Technique.

The announcement of the final winners drew enthusiastic applause for the following dance pairs:

  • Mr. AHN Sweetheart-Travis Allen (dance partner was Paige Schaefer)
  • Best Costume-Joe Twomey and Michelle Reyes
  • Best Dance Technique-Robbie Amor (A’07) and Marianna Sotomayor
  • Best Freestyle-Robbie Amor and Marianna Sotomayor

Applause was loud and clear for the other dance couple participants: Connor Diaz (A’07) and Laura Giunta, Joey Gonzalez and India Hayes, Andrew Rodriguez (A’07) and Garrison Daly, and Michael Waggoner and Sabrina Marcos.  Garrison Daly, despite a foot injury the week prior to the contest, danced beautifully, although a bit carefully, and received congratulations for her “courage under fire.”

Mr. AHN Sweetheart would not have been such a success with the help of all those involved. The money raised will be placed under the Class of 2011 Endowment fund to benefit the future of the Academy. Hopefully, Mr. AHN Sweetheart will continue as a Academy tradition in years to come. Juniors – start practicing because who will be the next Mr. AHN Sweetheart?

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

For us to post your comment, please submit your name and email with the comment. Thanks!
All Achona Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
First ‘Mr. AHN Sweetheart’ captures hearts