Quill and Scroll Journalism Honor Society inducts 12 new members

Quill and Scroll Journalism Honor Society inducts 12 new members

On Wednesday, March 28, Academy inducted twelve new students into the school’s chapter of Quill and Scroll International Honor Society for high school journalists.

Inductees who qualified for the award were nominated by their journalism teachers or moderators:  Mrs. Patricia Loesekann, Excursions Literary Magazine;  Ms. Sylvia Muzquiz, Echoes Literary Magazine; AHN Morning Show – Mrs. Cyd Steward; and Achona Online Newspaper – Mrs. Edie LeBas.

To be eligible for membership, a student must be a sophomore, junior, or senior, be in the upper third of her class scholastically, have done superior work in some form of journalism, and be recommended by her supervisor.

Quill and Scroll Moderator Mrs. Patricia Loesekann organized a light lunch for members, inductees and their parents. Current Quill and Scroll members introduced the inductees after explaining the history and purpose of this honor society. After each new member’s name was called, she received her certificate and pin presented by Mrs. Loesekann.

George H. Gallup and a group of high school advisers organized this prestigious honor society at the University of Iowa on April 10, 1926. According to the Quill and Scroll’s official website, the purpose of Quill and Scroll is to “encourage and recognize individual student achievement in journalism and scholastic publication.”

Quill and Scroll school charters have extended to more than 14,000 schools in all fifty states and forty-four foreign countries. A high school charter must have a published newspaper, yearbook, literary magazine, broadcast program, or a Web site.

2012 Inductees

  1. Charmaine Bondoc – Echoes Yearbook
  2. Mary Green –  Achona Online Newspaper
  3. Rachel Eilers – Achona Online Newspaper
  4. Victoria Sierra – AHN Morning Show
  5. Allison Mangan – Echoes Yearbook
  6. Amanda Schifino – Echoes Yearbook
  7. Sarah Shakespeare – Echoes Yearbook
  8. Li Stalder – Achona Online Newspaper
  9. Victoria Litschgi – Achona Online Newspaper
  10. Ketaira Phillips – Achona Online Newspaper and Excursions Literary Magazine
  11. Angela Robbins – Excursions Literary Magazine
  12. Allie Reichert – Achona Online Newspaper
Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

For us to post your comment, please submit your name and email with the comment. Thanks!
All Achona Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
Quill and Scroll Journalism Honor Society inducts 12 new members