Six juniors qualify for entry in National Merit Scholarship Program


College Counselor Mrs. Darcy Dwyer congratulates Mariah Diaz, Sarah Elliott, Gabrielle Madden, Angela Robbins and Principal Mrs. Camille Jowanna.

College Counselor Mrs. Darcy Dwyer and Principal Mrs. Camille Jowanna surprised Academy juniors after lunch on Wednesday, May 1, with important news that six of them have met the qualifications for entering the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

On hand to receive congratulations were Mariah Diaz, Sarah Elliott, Gabrielle Madden and Angela Robbins.  The other two students, Emily Rodriguez and Carly Stagg, were absent that day for the commendation photo.

In a letter from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), Kimberly C. Griener, Director of Scholaship Administration, commended the girls for attaining the Selection Index score of 203 or above in their performances on the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). “These high performers have shown outstanding academic potential. Each of these students is among the 50,000 highest-scoring participants of the 1.5 million program entrants.”

The announcement for those who qualify as National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists or Commended Students is scheduled for September of this year.