Fall Sports Banquet celebrates fan-tastic seasons

On Monday, November 12, fall athletes and their families gathered in the Brady Center for the fall sports banquet in celebration for a terrific and successful season.

AHN athletics inducted Mrs. Kim Healy Russell A’78, mother of Kerry A’08, Paige A’11, and Leigh Anne A’12, into the Athletic Hall of Fame for her dedication to AHN swimming as an athlete and a swim mom. Athletic Director Kevin Vargas, Director of Alumni Relations Mrs. Patty Bohannan, and Mrs. Russell’s former AHN swim coach introduced Mrs. Russell and the multitude of reasons  explaining why she is more than qualified to be inducted. Mrs. Russell followed this inspiring introduction with her admirable expression of humble gratitude for receiving such an honor.

Following the induction, Mr. Vargas praised the golf, cross country, swimming and diving, and volleyball teams on victorious seasons, outstanding championship meets, the seniors, and new school records. The teams later broke off separately to distribute specific awards and to commemorate on the fantastic team and season.

For the golf team, Coach Chris Kumka awarded junior Emmy Martin with the Lowest Scoring Average, senior Alexandra Gerecke with Most Improved, and senior Christina Gerecke with Coach’s Award. Alexandra Gerecke is very grateful for the recognition. “I am so excited that my hard work has been noticed by my coach and my team and that I was able to improve throughout the years.”

Cross Country Coach Ray Rodriguez presented junior Becca Patterson with Most Improved, sophomore Colleen Doherty with Coach’s Award, junior Allie Reichert with the Spirit Award, and junior Claire Snyder with Most Valuable Player.

For the volleyball teams, JV Coach Curt Frommelt awarded freshman Caroline LaMoutte with the Offensive Player Award, freshmen Karlee Nipper with the Defensive Player Award, sophomore Danielle Orr with the Jaguar Spirit Award, and sophomore Magali Valiente with Most Valuable Player. Varsity Coach Jeff Davis awarded junior Lily Veith and Courtney Vogler with Offensive Player Awards, senior Chandler Cartwright with the Jaguar Spirit Award, and Jennifer Aprile with Most Valuable Player. Danielle Orr is enthusiastic regrading her influence on the team. “I am glad that my positive attitude greatly affected the team.”

Diving Coach Kathy McNeil presented sophomore Cara Dawson with the Most Outstanding Diver. Swimming Coach Bill Shaffer awarded junior Clare Fleming with Most Outstanding Swimmer, senior Tori Litschgi with Most Valuable Player, senior Alex Diaz with the Mara Schultz award, and junior Shae Timmons with Most Improved. Senior Alex Diaz feels honored to be compared to her hero. “I am very appreciative to receive the Mara Schultz Award in honor of my first high school swim coach. She is the reason I am on the team today.”

Christina Gerecke, Danielle Orr, and Gini Barreda reported the awards for their respective sports.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

For us to post your comment, please submit your name and email with the comment. Thanks!
All Achona Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
Fall Sports Banquet celebrates fan-tastic seasons